ASP.NET adventure SignalR (Part 3)

Last time I said:

Now that I have a running application that is, actually, a website based on MVC, I feel something strange. I wanted something like a classic web service, but instead, I got a bunch of pages, controllers and some generic classes to setup SignalR Confused smile

Is that necessary? I think I’m taking my eye off my goal! I didn’t even want a website.

Hehe! here I am, boys. I’m writing a bit late tonight, but I think that this good news is worth sharing Smile

I finally got something to work! I have a Windows Phone 8 application that makes a request to a server using SignalR and retrieves a list of what I called “Orders” (a pretty generic entity). No MVC at all!

It’s a little piece of shit and most of people could actually laugh at it, but I’m pretty impressed that I managed to make it work! Sometimes a big goal is made of tiny goals.

Now I’m facing subtleties derived from my “classic” point of view. I wanted to retrieve a list of things remotely and show it in a UI using MVVM. A lot of new things made an abrupt appearance as soon as I invoked things asynchronously. Argh!

  • JMN, didn’t you tell that you already dealt with asynchrony in the past?

Oh dear, I did, but it’s more than 8 years ago! Mutexes, static tokens, signal, waits and other gruesome mechanisms…

Now, there are beautiful keywords for doing the same in a more tidy fashion. await, async and Tasks. But, oh God! I don’t understand a ** of what I’m doing too often!

I will give you a full detailed description of what I did, but that will be in the 4th part of my adventure!

Responder

